Flite Test Viggen Build

Although I have yet to fly my trainer plane (Eflite Apprentice S 15e) I really like the idea of flying an electric ducted fan (EDF) plane. Having watched a lot of Flite Test on YouTube and their website I was interested in the FT Viggen that was designed by them and made from Foam Board. In the overview/review video for this scratch build kit the hosts said that this would make a good EDF trainer aircraft, plus the fact that it is made with foam board helps with repairability.

So what I have chosen to do is pick up the Flite Test speed build kit, which they offer from their online store that is laser cut foam board.

20140803_181606

To supplement this speed build kit I have picked up electronics from Eflite, Hitec, and Spektrum. The Battery is TBD.

20140803_181344

In order to build this kit Flite Test has taken the unique approach of using an online build video to show you how to build the plane (unless I missed something on their website). The primary method of construction is hot glue, razor blade, bamboo skewer, and packaging tape. This is a simple as can be, but having not build anything from Flite Test before I was somewhat unprepared to work with foam board as a building material in this capacity.

20140803_190218 20140803_190226

As construction progressed I found that I had to modify the EDF housing to fit into the fuselage without going through the foam board. After that I had to figure out the best way to route the wiring for the servos and brushless motor, which taking a page from Flite Test was done across the top of the plane in the vertical stabilizer housing (sorry no photo). This wiring was a real pain as once the wires are positioned inside the housing they have to clear the vertical stabilizer as it is inserted and that resulted in a lot of modification to the housing. I had to cut openings on both sides and towards the front of the housing so I could pull the wires out of the way as I glued down the vertical stabilizer.

20140804_18275820140804_191252

 Once that was done I had to install the canards, which was relatively easy. At this point the only thing left to do is mount the receiver into the electronics bay and pick a battery.

20140807_204800

Overall I would say that although the build/plane is not recommended for the beginner. There is nothing to say that a beginner cannot build this plane, just be warned that you may get some crease lines in the paper of the foam board. As for flight, this is TBD for a few more weeks when I will have time to take it up north and give it a go. At that time I will be able to say if beginners will be able to handle it.

Electronics:

Eflite – 69mm Ducted Fan

Eflite – 3600kV Brushless Motor (BL15 for V15 EDF)

Eflite – 60 Amp ESC

Eflite – Servo Extension’s

Hitec – HS-65HB (Servo 2x)

Spektrum – AR400 Receiver (4 Channel, DSMX)

Du-Bro – E/Z Connectors for Servo Arms

Pros/Cons/Rating: TBD until first flight

Leave a Reply

